Can you ferment Grubbly layer feed?

nicolevg

Songster
May 30, 2021
Tehachapi, CA
I'm very new to chicken keeping, and just learned you can ferment your feed before serving it to the chickens as a way of not only increasing the fermented foods in their diet but also for overall health reasons too. I'm currently using Grubbly layer feed for my 1-yr-old hens, which to my knowledge, does not contain grain... just seeds and pellets made from larvae/insects. I also have been adding a good amount of black-oil sunflower seeds and feeding them soldier fly larvae every other day or so (in addition to giving them access to oyster shells when they need it), since their feathers were very patchy when I first purchased them a month ago from a local friend of a friend who raises chickens. She had just let them be with a rooster several weeks prior, and he kind of beat them up, so she told me to give them lots of protein to help their feathers grow back in nicely.

Anyway, if I'm interested in serving them fermented feed for the overall health benefits, could I do that with Grubbly feed? It's not like there's corn or wheat in it to sprout, just seeds.

Thanks in advance, y'all!