Candling and decided which eggs to cull

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by kupi99, May 7, 2009.

1. kupi99

kupi99 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 7, 2009
    Ok, so my first hatch is not going very well so far. [​IMG] I've had lots of temp probs, and humidity probs. Some of the things I know what I did wrong, other I don't. Tomorrow is day 10, and I'm candling the eggs then. I've held off candling before now depsite the probs, b/c one, my eggs are dark and since this is my first time so I want to be able to see clearly, two I've had such probs getting the temp anywhere near steady that I don't want to mess with cooling the eggs anymore than they have been cooled due to temp fluxes.

My question is if I see any chicks developing / growing when I candle, is it worth keeping them, or will they just die when they hatch or within a few months of life? Should I just go ahead and cull the whole bunch now, on the grounds that even if they hatch they'll be sickly? I'd like to get a chick at least, if I can.

2. jacyjones

jacyjones Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 9, 2008
    Aberystwyth, Wales
    I am also a newbie on my first hatch. I think in your position I would let the hatch go ahead - you can't know what will hatch and if they will be ok but I would want to give them a chance. I don't think I would be able to get rid of them now - if anything is growing then you would be denying it the chance of a life and I could not do that. Just my opinion for what it's worth! good luck with your decision.

3. ~*B*~

~*B*~ Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 5, 2008
    Ohio
    i would keep them for sure!
    i would keep anything that wasnt a clear bloodring
    or non fertile egg. i had terrible issues one
    being my son turning off the heat and the temps
    were in the 70s for about 36 hrs. i lost 3/4 of my
    eggs but have had 4 hatch since yesterday.
    so dont give up on them yet.

4. shelleyd2008

shelleyd2008 the bird is the word

Sep 14, 2008
    Adair Co., KY