Chick not hatching, Please Help!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by nyseman, May 1, 2009.

1. nyseman

nyseman Out Of The Brooder

Apr 26, 2009
    Garber
    Hi, I'm new to hatching eggs. The hatch date was Wednesday the 29th. I had 9 hatch out of 16 hatch. There were two sets of 8 from different breeders. One group all 8 hatched, Only two so far out of the other group and it was a struggle. One died. Anyway Thursday afternoon one egg started to peep and broke though. It still hasnt hatched and it's 4pm Friday. He peeps and sometimes is very loud. But as the time goes by, it isnt as loud. I'll go over and shine a light on his shell and he starts to quietly peep and slowly rock. Should I help him, or is it to late?

2. Crystalchic

Crystalchic Gone for a bit

May 6, 2008
    what day is it on?
    when i get like that i will usually take tweezers and a warm cup of water and q tip and help little by little. if i see blood i stop and put the egg back. but that is just me. i have no patience and i have killed some by having no patience. and i saved some as well. but also i helped one or two out that were very deformed and ended up having to cull. if you help the chick out do it at your own risk. not by what i would do. i dont always make the right choices

3. Fox

Fox Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 4, 2008
    South Carolina