chicken droppings

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by rriveramri, Jan 2, 2011.

1. rriveramri

rriveramri Out Of The Brooder

Oct 11, 2009
    LA, CA
    I need to ask if the way I am handling my chicken droppings is appropriate. I have 3 hens and I clean out their coop about once every two weeks. I take the droppings and wood shavings (About 50 / 50 ) and place them at the bottom of my fruit trees. I have been doing this for about 4 months. I can see no damage to my trees (Avocado, Apple and Nectarine) Does anyone know if I am damaging my trees?

2. clairabean

clairabean Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 7, 2010
    Kootenays of BC!
    Probably not. Why do you do it so often?

3. oldchickenlady

oldchickenlady Chillin' With My Peeps

May 9, 2010
    Cabot, AR
    If you put a poop board under the roost you can get by without cleaning out all the shavings so often. I have a piece of thin paneling cut about 28 inches wide installed about 12-14 inches below the roost. I sprinkle shavings on it to keep the poo from sticking and every few days I use a hoe and a 5 gallon bucket...I scrape the poo into the bucket and when the bucket gets full, I empty it onto the compost pile. Chicken manure is a little 'hot' and shavings take a long time to decompose, but if you don't over due it, I think you trees will be fine. I would not keep on putting more shavings under them, though.

4. rriveramri

Oct 11, 2009
    LA, CA
    I have a small coop and want to keep the smell down. How often would you suggest

5. rriveramri

Oct 11, 2009
    LA, CA
    I do have the shavings under the roost. I will add a board like you have suggested.

6. DianeS

DianeS Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 28, 2010
    Oregon