Chicken getting bullied

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by danslow, Oct 17, 2014.

1. danslow

danslow New Egg

Oct 17, 2014
    Hi,

I am a college student in a vegetarian cooperative house with our own garden and chickens! We have 6 hens. 1 was acquired after the other 5, and she is getting beat up by the others. She is missing feathers on her head, neck, back, shoulders, and around her vent. She was just pink and bald until yesterday when I noticed some open wounds.

Here's the steps I have/will be taking:
    -Separating her at night (we are separating her today)
    -Just purchased blu-kote and vetericyn to treat her wounds
    -Purchased a "chicken saddle" to protect her while she is with the other hens
    -Our university won't let us free-range them. We will be building a bigger run soon, which should help. I'm also exploring other entertainment options. This weekend I'm going to try to make my own "Flock Block". I also bought a "chicken ball" and one of those hanging spherical cages to put treats in that they can play with. Also got a cabbage yesterday.
    -Got some diatomaceous earth and will try to make a special dust bath area for them in their run, in case she has mites or lice (couldn't see any, but JIC!)

Do you guys have any other suggestions? I remembered her looking like this last spring, before I lived in this co-op. So I don't think it is molting. Any other ideas or solutions...? Any tips for the things I am already doing? The one nice thing is I think one of the alphas protects her from the poofy-haired bullies, but not well enough...

2. ChickenCanoe

ChickenCanoe Chicken Obsessed

Nov 23, 2010
    St. Louis, MO
    Separating her is only prolonging the problem. Any time a bird is separated from the flock it is picked on when it returns.