Chicken having problems standing up and walking.

eep123

In the Brooder
11 Years
Jul 28, 2008
Hi. I'm new to owning chickens and so far I love them. However, one of mine recently started having problems walking. She eats fine and drinks plenty but she can't stand up properly. She seems to have something really heavy pulling her chest down. I have researched some stuff and I can't find anything like this. She seems happy enough. There is no problem with her legs. She tries to stand and can get her back side up but has to balance herself on her beak to stay up. She's my favorite and I really want her to get better. Please help!!

how old is the hen?
is she laying eggs?

do you know how to check the crop?
does she have a pendulous crop?
is she actually eating, or just pecking and look like she's eating?

what all do you feed?
do you have oyster shell available?

has she been wormed?
if so, when and what was used?
describe droppings...color and consistency..
has she been treated for mites?

is she thin?

she is about 16 weeks. no she's not laying eggs yet.
no i don't know how to check the crop. what is pendulous crop?
yes, she is definitely eating. i feed her layer ration and grit.
i don't know if she's been wormed or treated for mites, but she doesn't look like she has mites. her droppings are brown in color with white caps on the end and are not runny. no, she is not thin, she's about the same size as my other chickens