chickens not laying

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by chickenman7713, Nov 13, 2014.

1. chickenman7713

chickenman7713 New Egg

Nov 13, 2014
    I'm new at this. 3 weeks ago I bought my son 25week old welsummers and rhode island reds that's now 28weeks old and still not laying, there getting a high protein mix. can anyone help. thanks

2. LogCabinChicks

LogCabinChicks Chillin' With My Peeps

May 3, 2014
    Hi! Welcome to backyardchickens...you will learn a LOT from this site. I sure did. [​IMG]

Well, they could be shy or just not quite ready. You should switch to a layers feed for the added calcium that they need once they start laying. They will need high protein only when they molt or during the winter if they stop laying. Do they seem happy? Every evening when I come home from work I call to them and they all run to the run door in a great big stampede. They are waiting for their treat. I enter the run and I give them whole grain or whole wheat bread -- small tiny pieces, and our game lasts about 10 minutes. They will even fly up to my hands to try and steal it if I'm taking too long. Does he talk to them? They will talk to you and answer you back. Give them time. Its all new for them. New people, new coop, new run...new new new. Hang in there. Happy chicks lay lots of eggs.

Plus, giving them the bread treats serves another purpose -- if they ever get out (one day my husband forgot to latch the run door....) I told him to go grab the bread and he slowly "treated" them back to the run. Works like a charm. Much easier than chasing 28 hens. [​IMG]

3. Michael OShay

Michael OShay Chicken Obsessed

May 14, 2014
    Montana