Chicks dying . . . no idea what to do

gottsegnet

Songster
10 Years
Mar 19, 2009
Nebraska
We received 17 chicks in the mail yesterday. All but one seemed healthy. That one was smaller and seemed sleepy. Went to a funeral, came home to two dead chicks and one that was limp. It died. Now we have three more in that condition. They act like they're sleeping, but you can't wake them up. Then they fall over and just sort of lay there. Their necks are real floppy and their heads just sort of roll. Then thy lay there opening their mouths like they're gasping and die.

First of all, call the hatchery right away and report your problem
Ask them if they are having issues . I am no expert on chicken diseases, but I read that coccodiosis causes symptoms of droopy wings, ruffled feathers and sleepiness. Treatment is corid liquid in drinking water at the rate of 2 teaspoons per gallon of water for 7 days. Then skip 21 days and begin treatment with sulfadimethoxine at the rate of 1 ounce per 2 gallons of h2o for 5 days. Then skip 21 days and start all over and repeat until the birds are 5-6 months old or hens begin to lay. I am quoting the march issue of the poultry magazine
I would also add vits and electrolytes to the water, at least to start. Make sure they are warm enough as well. Good luck, and sorry for your loss .

Hi Gottsegnet, would you mind describing your brooding setup? That would help others suggest possible causes.