1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Chicks fighting a lot!

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by jzervas92, Mar 18, 2013.

1. jzervas92

jzervas92 Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 26, 2013
    New York
    This is my first time owning chickens, and I'm trying very hard to do my best! My 5 Rhode Island Red chicks are about three weeks old now and they're fighting a lot. At first I thought they were developing their pecking order, but now they're getting really big and do the chest bump thing all the time. The brooder I have is 3 feet long and 1 and a half feet wide. When they were smaller it was perfect, but now I'm not sure if they feel to crowded. All they want to do is fly and sit on top of the walls of the brooder when I take the screen off. I have plenty of roosts for them to sit on. They also never peck each other and they seem happy and VERY active. When they do fight they only spread their wings, circle each other, chest bump and make a really loud chirp. I'm pretty sure I have one roo because he's the smallest with the biggest waddle. Should I make a bigger brooder, or just let them be?

2. BuffOrpington88

BuffOrpington88 Non-Stop

Mar 20, 2012
    They are probably feeling a little cramped. With more space in a bigger brooder, the pecking order issues will probably resolve themselves.

3. 3riverschick

3riverschick Poultry Lit Chaser

May 19, 2009
    western PA
    My Coop
    3x1.5= 4.5 sq. ft. you should have 2 sq. ft. per bird for large fowl brooders at this age. your brooder is less than 1/2 the size it needs to be.
    Best,
    Karen

4. Kasey

Kasey Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 10, 2013
    Waco, TX