chics left in heat

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by gypsyfarm123, Jul 27, 2011.

1. gypsyfarm123

gypsyfarm123 Out Of The Brooder

Jul 27, 2011
    south jersey
    Hello all. I'm Craig in N.J.<Insert joke here>.I am new to raising 2 golden laced wyandotte's 2 bared plymouth's 2 americana and one new hampshire red(he's the only rooster of the bunch).I've been raising them in my basement for two months now and I have occassionaly been letting outside(in a large dog pen for a couple hours at a time until I finish buildin their pen and run(that will be preditor proof and all that).Ok,(get to the point,right?)Anyways,we have been having a heat wave here in N.J lately and I unfortunately fell asleep and they were left out in 100deg heat for about seven hours! When I finally remembered they were still out there, they were mouth breatheing (although they had water it was probably boiling!) I quickly brought them in and put icecubes in their waterer and raised their heat lamp.Are they going to be ok? I've been checking on them every hour or so and they seem to be settleing in ok.but I'm VERY worried that I'm going to wake up to some dead chickens. Do you guys/gals think they will be ok? Is there anything else I should do? Thank you

2. Jerseycoop

Jerseycoop Chillin' With My Peeps

May 13, 2011
    New Jersey
    Hi Craig I'm from NJ too! I think if they're settling in they should be alright. When my chicks were a few weeks old I realized I had to move the lamp up because they were panting, they recovered quickly. Good luck [​IMG]

3. Katy

Katy Flock Mistress

Quote:Chicks that are two months old don't need a heat lamp anymore. I hope you can get their pen done soon so they can be outside. We've been having triple digits (110 today) for over 3 weeks and all my birds are doing fine. The heat is hard on poultry, but the switching back and forth from inside to outside and back again is even harder on them.

4. Nicole01

Nicole01 Overrun With Chickens