Coop & run flooring

SydneyChick

In the Brooder
8 Years
Jul 28, 2011
Hi! I'm hoping some of the eggsperts (lol!) or simply those with more experience than myself can help me...

I'm a novice chicken keeper with 3 leghorn pullets. They have been 100% free-range but the poop everywhere is becoming a drag.

For the time I spend sweeping & hosing the back porch, the chicks may as well be in a run which gets raked every second day.

SO - being a mum of two small children I simply bought their coop on eBay and will be ordering the complimentary run extension soon.

(I have taken measures to preserve & strengthen the flimsy fir wood as much as possible.)

My plan is this - use treated pine poles to raise the coop/run about 5" off the ground. Use scrap wood to box in the 5" gap at the bottom, lay down galvanized mesh on the grass to discourage predators, then 2" of gravel and then 3" of river sand.

The coop & run are roofed. Oh, and I also plan to dig & install a French drain under the whole setup before I do anything else.

Am I missing anything? Would the coop/run have better drainage if I simply built a floor out of plywood & put the whole thing on stilts?

Is that enough sand/gravel? The coop/run will be situated on the high side of a sloping backyard..

Thanks in advance!

smile.png

Raising the coop off the ground is an extreme advantage. When it rains, the inside of the coop won't get wet at all (or at least there is no chance it will). When it is cold outside, since it is above the ground, the floor is not nearly as cold, thus keeping the coop warmer. There is also a very unlikely chance that rodents and other pests will get in the coop if it is raised off the ground. Does it need to be raised? no. mine isn't. its just a plus. Make sure the coop is ventilated. Some coops do not come ventilated and its a disaster. Just a couple holes at the top of the coop is fine. If not, the coop becomes a hot box and the smell who be over bearing.