Coop/tractor question

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by creekrocket, May 12, 2011.

1. creekrocket

creekrocket Chillin' With My Peeps

May 9, 2011
    Savannah, Ga
    Im new to the chicken thing....I am looking to get some meat birds and house them in a coop that I saw on this website. Ive noticed that a lot of yall are keeping them in 'tractors'. Is this the way to go with meaties, or can I keep them in a coop? This the coop that I would like to build for my backyard.
    [​IMG]
    Will this be fine for meaties?
    Thanks

2. PotterWatch

PotterWatch My Patronus is a Chicken

Apr 22, 2008
    Virginia
    You certainly can keep them in a coop like that. The biggest advantages of a tractor are that the birds will get fresh grass every day and they won't be pooping in the same place day after day. A coop like that is going to be an awful mess in a hurry with any number of meaties in it. Meat birds poop much more and are much more smelly than layers so while that would be an ideal coop for layers, it will be very hard to keep clean and keep the smell down with meat birds in it.

3. barrybro

barrybro Chillin' With My Peeps

May 22, 2009
    SW Michigan
    I think you can keep them in the coop in the picture, but if you did meaties again you would go with a mobile tractor. I have 225 meaties right now in pvc "tractors". Moving them is really easy and virtually no smell. Try them in the coop first and then if you like raising them, i think you will want to go with a moveable pen.

Barry

4. brandislee

brandislee Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 15, 2011
    Southern Minnesota