Coops in Winter?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by cluckcluck42, Oct 24, 2009.

1. cluckcluck42

cluckcluck42 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 4, 2009
    Quebec
    I'm turning a big shed into a chicken coop soon, and just wondering how to make sure it's warm enough for the hens? There isn't electricity hooked up yet.

What do you guys do in winter with your coops? Do you let your chickens out and explore in the cold?? I live in Canada, by the way. This is my first time owning chickens!!

2. okiechick57

okiechick57 Chillin' With My Peeps

I am in Oklahoma...........I just built a coop out of a metal shed, I have one heat lamp in there now......not sure how winter will go. we get more ice than we do snow.........am curious what others say !

3. Sooner

Sooner My kids Mom!

Mar 22, 2009
    Oklahoma
    I do have electric to my coop to plug in the heat (dog) waterer. Later in the winter if I want to have more eggs I might add a light but I do not heat the coop. I am not sure what you should expect considering you are in Canada. We had a 14 day strech of no electric due to a ice storm and all my chickens made it fine.

4. LynneP

LynneP Chillin' With My Peeps

5. teach1rusl

teach1rusl Love My Chickens

Cluckcluck...if you can access electricity (VERY useful to have available in your coop for various reasons), you might want to look into something called a Thermocube. It only kicks the power on to whatever is plugged into it when the temp falls below 35 degrees, and kicks off again if it hits 45 degrees (F).

As long as my chickens are willing to go out, I'll let them out (unless it gets down in the single digits). Many talk about spreading straw out on snowy or frozen ground to give them something to scratch around on. I'd also think it would be a bit of cold buffer for their feet too???

6. LynneP

LynneP Chillin' With My Peeps

I agree and if your have some dry shavings from the coop you can toss that out on the ice as well.