Creating a regenerative meat flock

Maria1639

Hatching
Mar 26, 2024
Ideally, I would like to have flocks of birds that I can breed continually in the hope that they cross into a slightly faster growing meat bird. I do not want to rely on buying CX or FR year after year. I am just beginning my research. I thought I would see what feedback comes here first. My thought is this. I want to begin with 2 separate flocks that I can breed true to keep them going and from those flocks cross breed for better meat and growth rate. What are your ideas on breeds that could fit that purpose? Thank you for taking the time to respond!

Ideally, I would like to have flocks of birds that I can breed continually in the hope that they cross into a slightly faster growing meat bird. I do not want to rely on buying CX or FR year after year. I am just beginning my research. I thought I would see what feedback comes here first. My thought is this. I want to begin with 2 separate flocks that I can breed true to keep them going and from those flocks cross breed for better meat and growth rate. What are your ideas on breeds that could fit that purpose? Thank you for taking the time to respond!
One possibility:
A flock of Cornish chickens and a flock of White Rocks (Dark Cornish or White Laced Red Cornish or something like that for the Cornish: not the usual Cornish Cross, but pure standard-sized Cornish.) The Rocks provide early fast growth, and as the mother breed it is important that they be good layers (lots of eggs to hatch.) The Cornish provide a bigger breast, and using the Cornish as the rooster means you don't much care how many eggs the Cornish hens lay.