1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

critique my silkies (not too harsh please!)

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by blue90292, May 2, 2007.

1. blue90292

blue90292 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 30, 2007
    Rosharon, TX
    so i got these two silkies for free and since i'm no silkie expert, just one that thinks they're the cutest ball of feathers, i'm hoping to get a better understanding of what makes then better quality. i'm figuring these guys are bearded. but the black bearded one's i used to own, you couldn't see their eyes at all. i'm figuring the cockeral should be a little more mulberry color, the pullet has feathers on her third toe, the cockeral does not....anything else??

thanks! and sorry the pullet is dirty, she loves to dust bathe.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Last edited: May 2, 2007
  2. countrygirl4513

countrygirl4513 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 14, 2007
    Portland TN
    They are beautiful!!!!!!!!!!! I love Silkies. Thanks for sharing you pics.

3. Citychick

Citychick Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 31, 2007
    They look almost just like the two I rescued not long back. Pretty birds. [​IMG]

4. Gracefulspice

Gracefulspice Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 25, 2007
    Pa
    They look like big poofs of cotton. I think their really cool. [​IMG] Are they as soft as they look? Almost look like a toy stuffed animal--->chicken [​IMG] Enjoy your new additions [​IMG]

5. Neil

Neil New Egg

Mar 14, 2007
    This is what a good quality silkie should look like, its one of our birds. The hatchery silkies you have are very different.
    [​IMG]

Last edited: May 4, 2007
  6. birdlover

birdlover Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 11, 2007
    Northern Va.