Cull and cull heavy. How heavy?

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by onehorse, May 12, 2010.

1. onehorse

onehorse Out Of The Brooder

Mar 7, 2010
    Just starting out and would like to get to show quality stock. Bought lots and lots of hatching eggs, good, really good, show quality stock, from here, ebay, private breeders, etc. At this point, I have 5 birds out of probably 200 eggs that I am actually thinking of keeping around to see what they look like when they are older, the oldest right now is about a month old. Am I culling too heavy? Working on blues and blacks orps., but getting lots of white wing tips and toes (blacks shouldn't look like penquins, I'm thinking?) and I am pulling them out. Am I working in the right general direction?

2. SQbrahmas

SQbrahmas Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 22, 2010
    Maryland
    I am no Orpington expert but I believe that you are culling way too many way too early. At 4 weeks I might be culling OBVIOUS defects and DQ's but not for breeding or show stock.

3. speckledhen

speckledhen Intentional Solitude Premium Member

It's WAY too early to cull except for nasty flaws like side sprigs on combs. White wing tips molt out on the birds you mentioned.

4. hinkjc

hinkjc Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

Jan 11, 2007
    PA
    Most black breeds do start out looking like a penguin. The white moults out as they get their mature plumage.

5. nzpouter

nzpouter Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 19, 2009
    new zealand
    we only keep 1 out of every 15 we bred, some you can cull early for obvious reason like wrong comb, not enough foot feathering, etc, but some you got to wait longer.

6. goldeneggtees

goldeneggtees Fluffy Butt Nut

Mar 11, 2009
    Long Island, NY
    Hey, just a thought, instead of culling, can't you find someone who'll take them from you for use in a plain, old backyard flock?

7. jerseygirl1

jerseygirl1 Overrun With Chickens

Jun 20, 2009
    Orange County, NY