Decreased egg production- what am I doing wrong?

KnightsMist

Songster
Jan 18, 2019
Massachusetts
TLDR version: My hens have slowed egg production since early May but have also undergone changes to routine (less free range time), increased predator threats (fox family), and integration of new chicks (at 8 weeks old). Is decreased production a result of this stress? Or could there be underlying health issues?

Longer version:
This is my first spring/summer with adult hens (got my first chicks a year ago) so I'm still learning what's nornal vs not. I have 14 adult hens (all 1 yr old) and recently integrated 9 babies with them (10 weeks old now, integrated 2 weeks ago). I have a large coop and fenced run and they free range a little bit when I and my farm dog (who guards for predators) are around.

About 6 weeks ago a fox family moved in on our property. My dog is doing a good job protecting the girls, but the foxes are definitely making appearances near daily. The girls used to free range a lot more, but I've been much more cautious with the foxes- already almost lost 1 girl (saved by my dog!). I also have a hen who's been broody for about 2 weeks.

SO- a lot going on and changes happening. I'm a bit of a nerd and also sell extra eggs so I like to keep track of how many eggs I get daily and also look at monthly totals, so I can very quickly and easily see any trends. The girls were extremely productive in March and April, averaging 10+ eggs per day, but since early May (coinciding with the arrival of the foxes), the average has dropped to 8 (May) and now 7 (June to date) per day. Some days I'm just getting 5 from them. Beliw are monthly totals (June through today):
March280
April342
May274
June103

Is this normal fluctuation? Do they normally drop off in late spring/early summer? Could it just be all of the stress?