Deer Depopulation Methods

Chickerdoodle13

The truth is out there...
12 Years
Mar 5, 2007
Phoenix, AZ
I'm a vet student in the Northeast, and suffice to say we have quite a large population of deer in our area. I was recently involved in a class regarding methods to control deer population and even more recently became aware of a group of people who almost seem to think of the deer as their pets, and are against almost every form of control mentioned to them. Some of the people involved in this group are incredibly difficult to talk to in a productive manner and I think that's sad because I'm sure these people may have good ideas they could share, or even be interested in helping to implement them.

So I was curious to see what the people of BYC thought. I hope this conversation can remain civil and I would love to hear different sides and maybe even what your towns do about deer.

A little background on the area I go to school in:

Its a very strange area, as we have lots of farms, but interspersed in these rural areas are some very suburban populated and even upscale neighborhoods. The campus has implemented a few methods to control deer in the very immediate area, but as you can imagine, it is not easy.