Did i get the wrong order?

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by I_Heart_Chickens, May 12, 2008.

1. I_Heart_Chickens

I_Heart_Chickens New Egg

May 2, 2008
    This is my first time raising chickens and I am absolutely in love with them but I am really confused with what type of birds I have. I order 25 "Heavy Assorted Pullets (Nice assortment of brown egg breeds)" through stromberg's a few months ago. They are all different shades and combinations of black (shines green in sunlight) and a tan-ish/red-ish color. I've done quite a bit of browsing on the internet of different breeds and it looks like these girls are ameraucanas, which are not BROWN egg layers and are also not considered 'heavy', right? I love my birds but I do find it odd considering what I ordered....

Here are some pics and maybe I am wrong in my 'ameraucana' assessment:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. pips&peeps

pips&peeps There is no "I" in Ameraucana

Jan 18, 2008
    Newman Lake, WA
    No, they do not look like ameraucanas or easter eggers to me.

Call the hatchery and ask what the assortment usually contains.

3. silkiechicken

silkiechicken Staff PhD Premium Member

Look like sexlinks to me. They lay brown eggs

EE's would have green legs and pea combs, with beards.

4. GracefulBantams

GracefulBantams Hatching and Showing

Oct 10, 2007
    Oklahoma
    Yes, I am going with the sexlinks too. The first hen almost looks like a Black Copper Maran hen, though....

5. FrontPorchIndiana

FrontPorchIndiana Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 8, 2008
    Indiana
    I don't know what they are but the expression on the face of the one in the second photo is PRICELESS! [​IMG]

6. Rare Feathers Farm

Rare Feathers Farm Overrun With Chickens

I'm not sure which breed they are--but I'm laughin so hard at that second pic! [​IMG] She looks confused, yet very interested in you at the same time, LOL

7. I_Heart_Chickens

I_Heart_Chickens New Egg

May 2, 2008