Dilema....please help

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by JodyJo, Jan 10, 2011.

1. JodyJo

JodyJo Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 27, 2010
    Colorado
    I have been raising 9 chickens, originally supposed were all pullets, now I realize only 2 are...I have 2 Australorp pullets, 5 roosters, plus 4 Barred Rock roos...now my decision is to figure out which ones I will keep, the two pullets for certain, but which roos? Do I breed the BR to the Aust. or keep the same roos? Help...I am new to this and am not sure what to do?

2. thebirdguy

thebirdguy Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 22, 2010
    Idaho Falls
    If it was me, I would keep a black australorp rooster... but then they are some of my favorites!!

3. Cowgirl71

Cowgirl71 Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 5, 2010
    Missouri Ozarks
    I would keep an Australorp roo. Aussies are better layers than Barred Rocks, and then you can hatch purebred Aussie chicks! [​IMG]

4. HorizonSon

HorizonSon Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 5, 2010
    Pacific NW
    I agree; keep the Aussie.

5. WoodlandWoman

WoodlandWoman Overrun With Chickens

May 8, 2007
    Wisconsin
    The one thing that would make me keep one of the barred rocks, instead of one of the australorps, is if you are planning on a mixed flock of various breeds anyway and one of the BRs is a much better rooster.

Some roosters are really great and some roosters are not, from a behavioral standpoint. They have different instincts and temperaments. If I had one that was good to the hens, watched out for the hens to keep them safe and was good with people, I would keep that one. If I had one that was rough on the hens, didn't protect them or was extremely aggressive to people, then he'd be going to freezer camp.

Sometimes you want to choose based on what breed they are, sometimes on what they look like or how well they match the breed standard, but sometimes it's how they behave that makes your choice.

6. abhaya

abhaya Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 5, 2010