1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    Not a member yet? join BYC here & then introduce yourself in our community forum here.

DIY sanitization for eggs to incubate

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Nashonii, Jul 30, 2013.

1. Nashonii

Nashonii Songster 5 Years

I am sooo new to chickens and incubation that this is my VERY first time at incubation. Is there something around my house I can use to 'sterilize' the eggs with?
    So glad I discovered this site! I have used it often, and everything is working great!

2. The Chickeneer

The Chickeneer ~A Morning's Crow~

Well as long as the eggs are clean without any significant poop on them, they are good to incubate. Some people do sanitize and wash every egg before incubation, but that is just completely unnecessary and can actually do damage to the egg. If there is poop on the eggs, feel free to wipe it off with a damp rag or paper towel though.

When an egg is laid, it is covered with a protective membrane enamel called the bloom, this protects the egg from dirt, pathogens and parasites from entering the egg. When the egg is washed, the bloom (protective coating) is destroyed and leaves the egg vulnerable to a number of things that could enter the egg and harm the developing embryo.

So you see...its best to leave the eggs unwashed unless you absolutely have to because of dirt or poop.

3. ozexpat

ozexpat CocoBeach Farm

Fumigation of eggs and incubator is commonplace commercially

from http://msucares.com/poultry/reproductions/poultry_fumigate.html

Fumigation and sanitation of hatching eggs
    Sanitize eggs and equipment before storage or use by fumigating. Under-fumigation does not kill the bacteria, but over- fumigation can kill the chick embryo in the egg. Use recommended amounts of chemicals at the right time for the length of time specified.