Do Mille Fleur d'Uccles make good pets?

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by Fruit Juice, Mar 16, 2009.

1. Fruit Juice

Fruit Juice Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 13, 2009
    Boulder, CO
    Do Mille Fleur d'Uccles make good pets? How many eggs do they lay?
    Pics welcome. [​IMG]

2. moduckman

moduckman Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 2, 2009
    Cairo, Missouri
    Roosters? Not always. Hens, decent disposition. They lay one egg at a time.[​IMG] No, they lay about like any feather-footed bird.

3. chickn

chickn Away for a bit

Apr 15, 2008
    New Hampshire
    i have been raising d'uccles for 4-5 yrs never a mean roo , however d'anvers are another story. the hens are very nice

4. Robin'sBrood

Robin'sBrood Flock Mistress

May 8, 2008
    North Carolina
    I have 2 MF d'Uccle hens that are about 11 months old. They're friendly... when I can catch the fast little boogers. As far as laying, they're not nearly as dependable as my Black Australorp, who lays almost daily, but their eggs are not that much smaller than hers compared to the difference in their body sizes.

We love our feather-footed, muffed-faced, spotted little girls. [​IMG]

BTW, mine try to hide their eggs and one of mine went broody this past November, at around 7 months old.

Last edited by a moderator: Mar 16, 2009
  5. peepsnbunnies

peepsnbunnies Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 31, 2007
    Central Florida
    I have had several d'Uccles including a roo. All had great personalities. Very people friendly birds. I would love to have more! I would recommend them to anyone.

Lisa [​IMG]

edited to add: Mine were good regular layers and wonderful mamas

Last edited: Mar 16, 2009
  6. pbjmaker

pbjmaker Overrun With Chickens

May 9, 2008
    Central Iowa