Do you lock your chicks in coop at night or leave in the run

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by teresac, Apr 29, 2009.

1. teresac

teresac Out Of The Brooder

Jan 18, 2009
    Blairsville, GA
    I am new to chickens this year. So far so good. We have 3 BR & 2 BO that are 8 weeks old. We put them outside a few weeks ago and all is going well. Our run is built around the coop and have been locking the girls in the coop at night. They are out by 6am & go in at 7:30-8pm. The door to the run to as secure as we can make it. They are in there all day while we are at work and no problems.

We live in the N. GA mountains on 11 acres...so predators will be a issue. We have not had any problems so far. The question is, do we need to lock them in at night or can they stay in the run. I don't think anything can get in thru the door. I guess the question is, are they getting enough daylight.

Please help!!

2. crazyhen

crazyhen Overrun With Chickens

Aug 26, 2008
    mtns of ,NC.
    It would only take one predator to make you chickenless. I always lock mine in at nite. I was told weasels can go through a 1 inch hole and most wire is that or more outside. They can dig and climb.
    Dogs can bite through chicken wire like it is almost not there. I have seen one little doxey go through hard ware cloth wire. He was determined.
    Best is safe instead of sorry. Good luck with your chicks. I live in the mtns of NC over in Franklin. Jean

3. patandchickens

patandchickens Flock Mistress

Apr 20, 2007
    Ontario, Canada
    I lock them in the coop or tractor at night, for sure.

I believe I have pretty predator-proof arrangements (heavy gauge 1x1 welded wire or chainlink, with aprons and tops and raccoon proof latches) but predators are stronger, more 'squeeze-through-able' and more persistant than we'd like to think and I do not want to encourage actual TESTING of the defenses. The coop is for sure more secure than the run.

Pat