1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Does anyone keep a flock Journal?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by Manok-Tao, Feb 11, 2010.

1. Manok-Tao

Manok-Tao Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 6, 2010
    W-S NC
    I have a startup flock of 8 laying hens (had a few hens a couple years ago but other than that) and I'm new to the hobby. does anyone keep any type of journal on thier backyard flock; and if so what type of data do you capture? (weight, molts, laying, health issues, brooding, treats, etc..?) I keep one for my garden so I know what did well.....One when breeding Lab pups......One on my perrenials... (yea I'm a bit picky)
    Getting into chickens now so I'm curious as to what (if anything) is retained in journals?

2. TipsyDog

TipsyDog Chillin' With My Peeps

May 14, 2009
    Aregua, Paraguay
    I keep a calendar in which I record how many eggs from which breeds and the weather stats every day. It's fun to add up the weeks total eggs or even the months' total.

3. Uzuri

Uzuri Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 25, 2009
    I don't, but I caught one of my hens hiding a small book and a sparkly gel pen under the bedding the other day...

[​IMG]

4. Mrs. Fluffy Puffy

Mrs. Fluffy Puffy Fluffy Feather Farm

Jan 26, 2010
    Texas, Panhandle
    I keep a chicken jounal! If a broody hen starts setting then I count up to see when they will hatch or if my chickens do something funny then I write it down! And I have a list of treats and breeds I want and things of that sort! I have my own littl chicken book just for my chickies!

5. Rocky Meadows

Rocky Meadows Out Of The Brooder

Dec 19, 2009
    Lawton Michigan