Does it get easier?

Beaker99

hillbilly extraordinaire
Mar 31, 2022
Missouri Ozarks
I'm new to chickens but I have friends with farms. I thought I knew what this would entail. I thought these guys would be low maintenance.
Not a chance.
It's been trouble at every turn.
Then when you try to fix it and you research anything, there are different answers everywhere. I'm second guessing everything.
sigh. Rant over.

It does get easier as you learn what works for you and what doesn't work.

The biggest thing to remember with the poultry keeping is there's so many ways to do stuff. What's right for me may not be right for you. You have to find what works best for you. Than it's fairly easy.

Also learning about chicken behaviors can help. Sorry you are having a rough go at it. My first flock was a mess for me. No clue what I was doing. Now it's pretty easy for me.

The best part of the hobby is there is so much to learn. I enjoy that part. This site is full of information, but not all will fit your situation.

I understand your frustration, both on the different advice you get and how much work is required. Some of us keep a handful of hens in a tiny coop and run in the back yard, others keep a larger flock with hens, roosters, and chicks basically free ranging. Many are somewhere in between. What works for one of these likely won't work for the other. Your challenge is to try to figure out whether the suggestion you read is for your situation. Sometimes that is impossible to do because people don't tell you anything about their set-up.

How you are set up is going to have a lot to do with how much work is involved and how many behavior problems you might have. In general the less space you have the more behavioral problems you will have, the harder you have to work, and the less flexibility you have to deal with issues. I don't know how you are set up but I'd guess it is different than your friends on the farm.