Duck Droppings!

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by sarahc63, Jul 6, 2016.

1. sarahc63

sarahc63 Out Of The Brooder

Jun 29, 2016
    Ohio
    I am new to raising ducks and I have two very fluffy Pekins ~17 days old. I noticed this morning that one of the duckling's poop has the consistency of rabbit poop (lots of small round droppings). They ate some peas yesterday in addition to their regular feed, but they have eaten peas other days and I have not seen any droppings like this before. Just wondering if this is a normal thing or not!?

2. Welshies

Welshies Chillin' With My Peeps

May 8, 2016
    Alberta, Canada
    Well I know mine changed consistency as they aged. Duckling poop for me always has smelt so bad, and been so runny, whereas my adults poop rarely smells, and is only runny when they've eaten a lot of bugs. When they eat more grass it turns green and more solid.
    But rabbit droppings? Sounds odd to me. Are you sure the poop isn't part solid and part runny and the runny part is just soaking up right away?

3. sarahc63

Jun 29, 2016
    Ohio
    The small balls of poop are solid and there is a little liquid, but less than the usual poops. There's approx. 15-25 little balls in a single poop and they are a little less than a 1/4 inch in diameter.

4. Welshies

May 8, 2016
    Alberta, Canada
    Like deer droppings?
    That doesn't sound good. Do they have access to grit?

5. sarahc63

Jun 29, 2016
    Ohio
    Yes, they have chick grit and I have seen both of them eat it occasionally. I also take them outside for at least an hour almost every day, so I'm guessing they would get some grit outside as well. They are acting very normal outside of the poop. Neither duckling seems lethargic and both are eating lots. I am not sure which duckling is making the poop yet.

6. Welshies

May 8, 2016
    Alberta, Canada
    Hmmm... well they have lots of access to water right?

7. sarahc63

Jun 29, 2016
    Ohio