Duck fail..need advice

trailrider20

Chirping
8 Years
Sep 10, 2011
I am new to ducks but have had chickens. This summer I sectioned off a part of a barn building to use as a duck coop. I cut the entry door (made one for people and one for the ducks). I built a duck run and made it predator proof and covered it, etc. The only negative is that to access the coop, the ducks need to go up a short ramp. So I brought home my 7 ducks on Saturday. They will not go anywhere near the ramp. They stay mostly in one corner of the run. They seem happy and healthy but they will not go up into the coop. Any ideas would be appreciated. I have surprised at how "scared" they are of me and anything new. They really have not used their pool either preferring the water dishes I have put out for them.

Hi there
Congrats on your new ducks.
My ducks have a shelter with no steps
But they still decide to sleep outside if it's raining.
Maybe you can place a few bricks and make a step instead of a ladder.
Remember ducks can't grasp onto things like hens so it's harder for them to get in with a ladder.
If they still don't go in you can round them up every night and put them in so they know where home is.
Remember ducks are water proof so if they stay out in the rain they will be fine.
Goodluck
Fionn.

Use treats any thing i want to teach my ducks to do i use treats
smile.png

My call ducks go up a very large ramp into the the chicken coop. Last year they would only go in the coop in the winter when it was in the teens. Other than that they wanted to stay out in my secure run.

This year though I have added some muscovy. The muscovy started following my head chicken into the coop at night. Now all my call ducks now follow the muscovy into the coop every night. So, my solution is - get some muscovy lol!