duck newbie. some questions...

ohiogoatgirl

Songster
9 Years
Jan 4, 2011
ohio
i'm about to get 6 mallard/khaki mixes. tradin milk for ducks :)

so i'm new to ducks. these will be my first. they are all from the same place and free range the yard there. I know I have coons that will attack here so i'll be putting them into a very large hutch with a run onto it.
the ducks were hatched out by one broody duck early this spring. the person doesnt really sex them generally, they say the louder ones are ducks and the quieter, raspier sounding ones are drakes.. thinks there is 2 or 3 males and 3 or 4 females.
1)when abouts should they start layin?
2)would this cross be a decent egg layer? i'm not needin tons but havin a few would be good.
3)sexing tips would be super helpful. i'll be keepin the biggest healthiest drake and any other drakes will be my first butchers. see if I like the meat.
4)will they lay eggs all year?

thanks so much!

Here's a like to some sound files on the difference between drakes and ducks:

http://www.majesticwaterfowl.org/artquacks.htm

1) I think (I'm not overly familiar with mallard or Khakis much less a hybrid) you can expect them to lay in about 6 months.

2) No idea but since the Khaki is derived form the Mallard there's a fair chance at... fair? Again not familiar with the hybrid.