Duck with prolapsed penis

swannyduck

In the Brooder
7 Years
Aug 14, 2012
Hey guys, im new to this website and i mostly joined because i have 3 mallard ducks, one drake and two hens, They are all very fun, i take them out to my pond every day and they have been quackin it up since i got them as little ducklings. Anyway! the male duck is prolly about 2 months+ old or so, and only yesterday the 13th i went outside to check up on him and his penis was hanging out and somewhat bloody. I was very shocked and sad, mostly because this is my first time ever owning ducks so i really didnt know what to think. Did some research, realized its his penis and now im just trying to figure out what i can do to help him. He is still acting fine but i can tell he is a little sore. Ever since ive seen him with his penis out he has only been drinking water. i keep store bought food outside by them but he has only been drinking water. later yesterday he figured out how to kind of tuck his penis back in but whenever he poops (just poops out water) his penis falls out again and after a minute he tucks it back away. Mostly all of today he has just been doing the same thing but it looks like he isnt sucking his penis back up anymore and it looks like a inch or so is starting to dry up. I have seached about prolapsed duck penises and it sounds like i should just wait for it to dry up and i snip it off with some scissors. So here are my questions about all of this.
1. Do i really need to keep him separated in a dry box and wait untill it completly dry's up? he really likes to be right by his girls and playing in the pond.
2. How do i make him eat?!?! He hasnt even touched the food, only drinking water and pooping water!
3. Does his eating habbits and prolapsed penis have to do anything with eachother?
He is still acting fine, he is talking to the girls and still walking around fine,
Thanks guys I would really appreciate some reply's and help!
-Jess