Duckling business. How do you do things?

FernbergFarms

Songster
Apr 20, 2019
Northern Minnesota
Hi! I have ducks and this spring I want to hatch ducklings and fertile eggs for hatching or eating and have like my own little hatching/egg business! I’ve never done this before and I was wondering how you guys do your hatching businesses? Any tips will be appreciated! I plan to sell at farm swaps and sells, online, and farmers markets. Has anyone done any of these ? Also how do you guys advertise? What cost do you usually put them for? How do y’all manage your businesses?
Thx Alli💛

Last edited:
Hopefully someone is going to jump in with some more helpful advice than I can offer. I only have 10 Muscovy ducks and I'm thinking to make this a business you would need to go on a much larger scale. I've bought and sold at swap sales but that is not very reliable. People might want their ducklings sexed which takes way more experience than I have.
I was fortunate to find a buyer for my duck and chicken eggs and she will take all I can provide. Drawback for me is that in my climate there are no duck eggs for several months during the winter.
My daughter has sold fertilized peacock eggs but buyers must understand there is no guaranteed success rate. So much depends on buyers ability to have proper equipment and know how.
Anyway, good luck. Let us know how it goes. I would be most interested in hearing how many ducks versus food/maintenance cost are required to make this profitable.