Easy No Build Cheap Homemade Incubator

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by cloudswinger, Oct 24, 2008.

1. cloudswinger

cloudswinger Out Of The Brooder

Oct 24, 2008
    Ok, so the title sounds like an infomercial. I'm new to this, and just ordered some quail eggs, and figured I might need an incubator. So after looking around the internet and around the house this is what I came up with:

1 upright freezer - which still works, but not currently in use
    1 mini room heater - ceramic heating element, with fan and thermostat
    1 meat thermometer - with remote probe
    1 solar powered knex building set
    1 electric timer -
    1 web cam

Ok, so I just stick the room heater in the freezer, and use the meat thermometer to calibrate the temp. The freezer is well insulated so the heater is not on for very long at all. I bought an extra fan to see if that will help with the thermal gradient since the fan on the heater cuts off when the heater stops. I'm in the process of calibrating it now.

I'm using the knex set to power an automatic turner, since I can plug a lamp into the timer and use the lamp to power the solar panel. I haven't finished that design yet, but I think I'm doing something with a lazy susan.

And a web cam to see inside, since I didn't want to keep opening and closing the door.

Haven't figured out the humidity thing yet, but average humidity in Florida is about 50% at least, so it's probably fine to use ambient humidity?

The other thing is how to vent it, which I think I might either stick straws in the door seals, or maybe keep it slightly ajar.

Am I missing anything?

2. pipermark

pipermark Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 26, 2007
    Arkansas
    Vent it, drill some holes on the bottom and top, its important to have vent holes in that create a circulation of air, even with the fan.