1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Egg fertility

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by tigridia, Nov 23, 2009.

1. tigridia

tigridia New Egg

Nov 23, 2009
    Hi there. I have a query. Our rooster died 20 days ago. A bantam has just gone clucky. We would like to raise more eggs. The big question is: For how long do hens lay fertile eggs after the rooster has done his work?

This is a great site! We just discovered it. Thanks for creating it.

Cheers, Tigridia, New Zealand. Araucanas, grey silkies, a ranger or 2, and barred rocks.

2. vkp23

vkp23 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 10, 2009
    My house
    I'm still pretty new at all the chicken stuff myself but I heard that the eggs will sill be fertile for a week or so after the roo is gone. AND [​IMG]

3. Paganbird

Paganbird CrescentWood Farm

Apr 25, 2009
    Western Pa
    Eggs can be fertile for up to 3 weeks... try some and see how it goes!

4. tigridia

tigridia New Egg

Nov 23, 2009
    Thanks for the replies. We shall do as you suggest, and give it a go.

Another query: Is it true if a clutch of fertile eggs is sent by air they cannot be hatched afterwards?
    Something about the changes in air pressure in a plane. . .

5. Mahonri

Mahonri Urban Desert Chicken Enthusiast Premium Member

May 14, 2008
    North Phoenix
    My Coop
    I've had eggs sent from Georgia, Michigan and Texas to here in Arizona and I got eggs to hatch from each of those shipments.

Good luck with your clucky, broody hen.

6. mstricer

mstricer Overrun With Chickens

Feb 12, 2009
    Ohio
    Quote:[​IMG]

7. dianneS

dianneS Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 16, 2009
    South Central PA