EGG splosion!!!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by TanksHill, Jul 31, 2008.

1. TanksHill

TanksHill Out Of The Brooder

Jul 22, 2008
    Vista, Ca.
    Ok, so I'm rather new to you forum but I figured if I wanted sympathy this would be the best place for it. I have allways sarted with Pullets, just easier for me. We have no electricty to our coop etc.. A few weeks ago we imported several eggs from my sis in law and put them in the hen house. We had one hatch last week and it's doing marvalous. My neighbor who has much more expierence than I had been checking the remaning eggs. Well today I discovered one of the remaining eggs was being eaten by ants. I was bummed out. So I had to remove the hen off the eggs and shoo her out side. Then I grabbed this long handled brush to scoop out the ant egg. I accidentally bummped the other egg and WHAMO!!!! POP!!! The dang thing exploded. Crap and smeeellly egg stuff flew everywhere. I almost barfed. It was about that time my husband drove his lawn tractor the other direction. After I cleaned up the mess I had to of course take a shower.

Go ahead and laugh, it's ok. I guess I will just chalk this one up as expierence. I had to share. It makes me feel better. Gina

2. kellim

kellim Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 19, 2008
    SC, GA Border
    I am sooooo sorry for laughing but I am dying laughing right now! That sounds like something that would happen to me lol. And the husband going the other way....sounds just like mine!!! lol Oh and btw [​IMG]

3. therealsilkiechick

therealsilkiechick ShowGirl Queen

Jul 18, 2007
    Northwestern, pa
    [​IMG] sorry i had to laugh too. i had that happen in a bator before, never thought about it happening in with broodies. i'll definately watch that one never happens,lol.
    thanks for the warning!!
    silkie

ps. [​IMG]

4. Dinos_rock

Dinos_rock Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 1, 2007
    Arizona
    [​IMG] btw [​IMG]

5. kychickenmama

kychickenmama Out Of The Brooder