Feather eating behaviors

Hapitide

Hatching
Mar 13, 2021
Hello! Recent joiner to BYC...thanks! I have been raising chickens since 2018. Only have 3 right now-two Buff Orpingtons and a Speckled Sussex. I have experienced aggressive feather picking from a high ranking hen in the past and that problem was solved beautifully with chicken peepers. My new problem is a different pattern of feather destruction-I will attach two photos. The place that the feathers are being broken and I assume eaten are on their backs. Have any of you seen this pattern?? Do you think it's self eating or high ranking hen misbehaving again? I see from other posts that increasing protein and enriching environment is the most important way to help solve this. The have a lovely enclosed coop that is about 4 feet by 7 feet. I/2 side is sand and mulch on the other side. They have an enclosed heated roosting area about half that big that is elevated above the sand half. They often enjoy a short bit of time ranging in the woods but due to predation, I have needed to discontinue long times out. Since seeing the feather destruction I have increased protein snacks such as mealworms. They eat regular layer feed and I regularly give them veggies such as cabbage, carrots, broccoli and such. Thanks in advance for your help!
Heidi

Attachments

• 20210313_145458.jpg
    20210313_145458.jpg
    736 KB · Views: 24
  • 20210313_145429.jpg
    20210313_145429.jpg
    700.7 KB · Views: 20
That kind of feather damage is not noticed by many people. It's caused by compulsive behavior where the perpetrator rakes their beak over and over the back of a lower ranking chicken. It is even harder to resolve than picking behavior.