Feeding and watering question

Jayme

In the Brooder
11 Years
Dec 5, 2008
Tucson, AZ
Hello

I am still new to raising chickens

I have been changing out the chickens water (a metal hanging waterer)about once every 3 days is this ok? should I change it out more or can I let it go a little longer?

Also I have been using my new feeder and filling the food almost to the top (it is a metal hanging feeder), the food has been turning to dust after about 4-5 days so I have to shake it all the time to get the good stuff out. Should I be dumping out the food all the way out and putting in fresh food? and if so how often?

Thanks a bunch!
Jayme

sounds good on the water...what kind of feed are you feeding it makes a difference...I only feed what I thin they will eat in a day but many others have feed available all the time and in whatever amount...

It is organic feed I get from my local feed store it has no name it comes in a blank paper bag for 5-6 month old chickens.

Do you think it is better to feed on a day to day basis versus fill it up to the top?

I have that type of feeder and had the same problem with the feed getting clumpy, so I only filled it part of the way, a little each day.
Now that I feed layer pellets I don't have a problem with it clumping, so I fill it pretty full and re-fill only as necessary.

Hey Im Debbie, just wanted to say hi I've got 10 Golden buffs and I love them. I got them in Aug
and never knew chickens could be so much fun! I have a metal waterer and I add clean water
ever day and clean it out once a week, i've had good luck so far.

Hi Debbie nice to meet you-I think I will fill it once a day and clean it once a week and see how it goes-

I have another question I live in Arizona and the heat can get unbearable what can you do to keep the birdies cool with 110+ degree weather? as well as keep the water cool?

Thanks

Quote: