Feeding table scraps

happyhencamper

Songster
Sep 25, 2020
I have read an article posted about table scraps twice. I believe it was originally posted the first time in 2018.

I am not good with social media and don’t know how to show the link here like others do for the article

I also thought if I quoted things in the thread, I could post it here. Still learning.

I have questions based on some information/articles I have read previously.
First: I have had some yeast issues lately. Wondering if feeding products with yeast in it such as bread and noodles, contributes to the overgrowth of yeast?

2 How about sugar in things like leftover pastries, etc.? Stale items

3 I read an article about the amount of salt so a lot of leftovers would have salt.

4 some people say to feed the items large. But I also read an article about making the things in small pieces such as grapes. Because the birds in the bottom of the pecking order may quickly pull in items that are too large so that they get some of the food. In the past, I was feeding larger pieces for them to peck at. They will grab a large piece take it to a corner and take smaller pieces off. What are your thoughts on this?

I also read no raisins. If nuts are smashed or put in the food processor. Is it still not a good idea to feed nuts?

Greens and small scraps of meat are okay for them. Try to keep anything else (carbs, sugar, coffee, sweets, etc) to a minimum. Like twice a week. Anything that they can get in the backyard they can have.

Don't.

Don't feed table scraps.

Feed your birds a balanced diet and they will do better than they would if you fed them daily treats including table scraps.

Table scraps take away from the bird getting a balanced diet. Table scraps are a treat.

The general rule of thumb is that treats should not be more than 10% of their diet.

10% of their daily diet amounts to a tiny amount... A tablespoon worth.