Feeling Helpless...Hen is lifeless!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by jbpatwood, Aug 11, 2011.

1. jbpatwood

jbpatwood Out Of The Brooder

May 1, 2011
    Maine
    Three weeks ago we brought home (8-10 wk/old) chicks. We have kept them separate from the already exisiting flock. One on the new chicks (an Orpington) has a minor case of bumblefoot, and is being treated for it. He also has been laying down quite a bit, but otherwise eating and drinking normally. I can not for the life of me figure out what is wrong with him, but I know there is something else. I just went outside to let my exisiting flock out to play, and one of my Barred Rocks is lifeless. Her comb and wattles are turning yellow, and her breathing is very shallow. I don't know what to do! Is this something that she caught from the new birds? This is my first time doing this, and I'm worried I'll lose my whole flock because we decided to introduce more chickens into the flock. How do I treat her? What do I do? I feel so helpless. If anyone has any advice it would be greatly appreciated.

2. jbpatwood

May 1, 2011
    Maine
    Also, I forgot to mention my hen has fluid coming out of her mouth.

3. jbpatwood

May 1, 2011
    Maine
    She just died! [​IMG] Should I be culling the new chickens? Is this something she caught from them?

4. geekgurl

geekgurl Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 15, 2010
    Dallas, TX
    I'm so sorry your hen died. [​IMG] Are there any others that are exhibiting troubling symptoms? Any sneezing, nasal discharge or fluffy up feathery hens? Are the new chicks still quarantined from the existing flock? I wouldn't start culling until you get a better idea of what killed the BR.

5. jbpatwood

May 1, 2011
    Maine