Felted Wool Slippers

Discussion in 'Hobbies' started by punk-a-doodle, Dec 6, 2011.

1. punk-a-doodle

punk-a-doodle Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 15, 2011
    Trying felting/fulling old thrift store wool sweaters to sew together some slippers for my husband. I've never done this before, and with every spin of the washer, I'm freaking out a little bit more. Don't want to give him something that looks like the cat puked it up. X) Has anyone made these before? I'd love photos/tips/suggestions, etc. Anything to not think about the wool going though a hot wash cycle like one is never supposed to do with a good sweater. [​IMG]

2. punk-a-doodle

Apr 15, 2011
    Ahaha, this is the best thing ever! One sweater was already slightly felted and went in an XL...and came out child sized. It's like a giant shrink-a-dink. [​IMG]

3. eenie114

eenie114 Completly Hopeless

Isn't felting cool?! [​IMG] My only tip is to not automatically pass over ugly sweaters. One time I felted The World's Most Hideous Sweater (I probably could have been given a medal for destroying it!) and it came out really pretty! Weird how that works. And if you don't want to use it in the slippers, try making a crazy quilt out of them. [​IMG]
    Good luck, and be sure to show us pictures when you're done! [​IMG]

4. Frogdogtimestwo

Frogdogtimestwo Chillin' With My Peeps

May 21, 2008
    How did you make slippers? Did you find a pattern somewhere?

5. peepacheep

peepacheep Chillin' With My Peeps

Ravelry might have some info on felting slippers. Yarn Harlot's blog has had some very funny stories about felting slippers. It was a while back back but it's easy to do a search on her blog. Some of the wool sweaters I have bought at thrift stores turned out to be wool blend. Makes for very odd felting. Let us know how they turn out!

6. MNShepherdess

MNShepherdess Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 11, 2011
    Minnesota