Fertile?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Whooper, Nov 29, 2013.

1. Whooper

Whooper Out Of The Brooder

May 5, 2013
    [​IMG]
    I know it's a bad picture but wondering if someone could tell me if this is a fertile egg?

If it is, does one of my hens need to be laying on the eggs all the time. Every time I go into the coop they aren't on the eggs.

2. Catfish267

Catfish267 Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 26, 2012
    I Don't Remember
    i'm no expert but i would say yes.

3. mithious

mithious Chillin' With My Peeps

When a hen sits on the eggs they are called Broody Hens. Yes, if the eggs are fertile, and you end up with one hen, or more, deciding they want to hatch out some chicks, they will "go Broody" and sit on the eggs. It takes 21 days to hatch a live chick. They will start what is called a "clutch" of eggs, if they decide to go broody, and the eggs will hatch out over a period of a few days. As chickens like to lay in the same nest box, the broody will, most likely, be hatching not only her eggs, but some of the other hens' eggs.

It's also best to move the broody hen to a place where the other hens won't bother her or the chicks when they hatch. Preferably right in the same coop, but some type of setup that would keep the other hens and roosters away from the little family to be...it would be harder to reintroduce the "family" if you remove them entirely from the coop. Most broody hens will have no trouble hatching and raising her chicks, right in the coop with the other chickens, just keep an eye on them to make sure there are no problems.

A broody will sit on the eggs and refuse to get off them...even pecking at YOU, if you try to take her eggs! That is all completely natural!