First time to incubating eggs "PLEASE HELP"

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by Triplell, Jan 23, 2012.

1. Triplell

Triplell Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 29, 2011
    Brainerd, MN
    I am new to incubating and on the 27th I start lockdown. I will start my hatcher today to start regulating. Question is on all my eggs duck and chicken the air sack should be getting smaller shouldn't it? I have my heat at 100 degrees and I did a dry incubation until today when I started to use more humidity and its up to 60%. I have heard of the duckling or chick drownding in its shell when they try to hatch. Is there a way I can fix it if I have truely messed up? Please help!!!! I don't want to loose all my potential babies, were talking about 7 duck eggs and 35 chicken eggs all in one batch. I do have a seperate incubator that I will be using for my hatcher.

Thank you for any advice possible

Triplell

2. duckyfromoz

duckyfromoz Quackaholic

Jan 11, 2010
    Australia
    100 degrees is just a little high- you may find that they will hatch a bit early. How big are the air cells now? Air cells too big can also be an issue- just as ducklings can drown when there has been too much humidity- they can also become shrink wrapped by the membrane if they do not have enough moisture at hatch time. You may need to separate the duck and chicken eggs for hatching since ducks need much higher humidity for hatching generally. I usually have mine around 80 % for hatching.

Staying calm about the whole process is important now- and not worrying too much. Some losses are common, and there is at times nothing you can do to change that by the time you are so close to the end.

3. duckdad

duckdad Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 4, 2011
    I can;t help with the chicken eggs, but I can tell you a little about ducks...