First Timer Tips

Rhi13

Chirping
9 Years
Feb 19, 2010
Belmont,NH
Sooo, I finally broke and got the Brinsea Eco 20 to get into hatching. I have a general idea of what I should do...I think....but can we maybe compile a nice list of good pointers and specific Do's and Dont's? I just know ll forget some stuff, and would hate to have to look through umpteen different posts to find what i wanted( not that all these posts dont help, cuz they sure do!!!)
Thanks for all your inputs!!!
big_smile.png

Read the sticky note on hatching and incubating eggs: https://www.backyardchickens.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=48726.

Then
do a search for topics like: humidity, temp, lockdown, etc.

I found BYC to be great help. Listen to the folks with experience!

I'm a newbie, just now going through my second hatch and having great luck so far! My first hatch was ruined because I opened the incubator on the last day and lost a lot of humidity--I actually drove the incubator unplugged for 30 miles to transport it to my house from my kids' school. Bad mistake....

Make sure you run your incubator for a good day or so before putting the eggs in. This means you need to plan for the arrival of the eggs. It took my Brinsea 20 about a day for me to get the temp and humidity just right. The factory settings were no where near 99.5 deg. Then I put in the eggs and watched, watched, watched to make sure temp and humidity stayed good (had to adjust a little bit more).

Same with the styrofoam incubators, had to take 2 days to stabilize one of them, 3 for the other! but it is an LG and is trouble all around. I had several eggs quit on me in that incubator, but very few in my other one, my HovaBator.

I'm using the Brinsea for hatching this time, will incubate in it later after this hatch is over and I've gotten over the glow!

Read the instructions you got with the incubator, then get more info here and on other sites such as feathersite.com and My Pet Chicken.