Freaking out - used wrong DE, now what?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by Amnesiac, Jul 16, 2011.

1. Amnesiac

Amnesiac New Egg

Jul 16, 2011
    Hi all! I made a total newbie mistake & now I'm worried about my girls. I was just reading this thread: https://www.backyardchickens.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=216030

I
    accidentally used that DE (called Concern). I took it out & it was in there for only about 9 hours. But I'm worried now that they've been exposed to it. Should I wash them off since it was in their dust bath & they were in it? Not sure what else I might need to do. [​IMG]

2. adgcountrygirl

adgcountrygirl Chillin' With My Peeps

I bought my DE from a feed store and made sure to ask for the Food Grade DE. Even with the Food grade stuff, it says not more than 2% of their intake. I don't use it on my chickens, just the plants that they may come in contact with. Plus, as windy as it is, I use it in the garden which is less than 50 feet from their yard. When we lived in Fort Worth, we had a neighbor who sprayed her yard on a windy day while we were at school. We came home and let our rabbit play in the back yard like we usually did. The next day we went to get him out of his hutch again, and he was dead. She called us TWO days later to tell us, "Don't let your rabbit out. It was windy when I sprayed and some got in your yard too." All 3 of us kids loved that rabbit. The only good news I can offer you, is that usually DE and certain other dusting chemicals aren't as strong as the sprays. There is a Garden Sevin dust that isn't as strong as the other Sevin dust, but they look so much alike and neither made me feel like they were safe for the chickens. I hope you caught it in time and that your birds will be okay. Good luck!

3. ThinkingChickens

ThinkingChickens Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 18, 2011