Free-range chickens?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by lolita117, Mar 13, 2011.

1. lolita117

lolita117 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 12, 2011
    Hestand, KY
    Hello everyone,

I'm new to BYC, and plan on getting some chickens this week, and hopefully will get enough in the coming months to sells eggs. But I have a question about what free-range means. I'm an agriculture student so I've learn some on industry standard in poultry. I know there isn't a specific thing on what free-range is suppose to indicate but I do know what free-range isn't. Free-range is not a chicken that is kept in a small wire cage its entire egg laying life or a chicken that never get to go outside. And so here is my question, when/if I do get 15-25 chickens I planned on building a coop that is 12X18 (with a little storage area) and a 16X16 outside run that they will have access to every single day. Now from my calculations on what others have said on space requirements I have twice as much room as I actually need (which is what I want). Will I be able to consider these chicken free-range, when I sell my eggs?

-I won't be able to decide if I can actually allow them to free-range, since I have 5 German Shepherds that have a very high prey drive. When the time comes, I may be able to let them out a couple of hours in the evening a couple of times a weeks. (We'll see when the time comes).

2. ShadowRooster

ShadowRooster Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 11, 2010
    claremont, NH
    "free range" means the chickens can go outside. That means they could have 1 foot a bird in and out and still be free-range. They have to be outside for 20 mins a day. This allows factory farms to say they have "free range" chickens.

This is what I was told when I asked this. [​IMG]

Last edited: Mar 13, 2011
  3. secuono

secuono Chillin' With My Peeps

May 29, 2010
    Virginia