Free rangeing

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by theguy67, Aug 16, 2011.

1. theguy67

theguy67 Out Of The Brooder

Dec 23, 2010
    Hi,

I have not posted in a while so here it goes. I have a flock of 2 roosters, 5 hens and 3 chicks. The 2nd rooster was bought as a hen. They are kept in a 7x12ft pen with all walls/roof covered but the front and a side wall. Thier coop is a small box in the back. I was wondering if my flock could be free range or is it to small? I am thinking about converting the pen into the coop and add perches and more nests. Would I need to close it up completely inorder for them to use it at night? I don't want to be rounding them up with a net every night.

Last year we had skunks get in the pen and kill some hensoar night so that's another worry. So as long as they return to the coop/pen before sunset it should be possible.

2. Niss

Niss Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 29, 2011
    I am not an expert in preditor proofing coops, but I can speek to a few other questions.
    You have enough chickens to free range, especially given the high proportion of roos.
    They will probably come in on their own. After you have made your modifcations keep them in a few days. I have 14 chickens that refuse to come in, but the older chickens all put themselves to bed.

3. theguy67

Dec 23, 2010
    We have already preditor proofed the pen, I was just concerned if they decide not to come in that they would be attacked.

4. theguy67

Dec 23, 2010
    Also the chicks would not be free range.

5. Nicole01

Nicole01 Overrun With Chickens

Mar 28, 2011
    MN