getting chicks on Monday . . .

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by fargosmom, Jan 14, 2009.

1. fargosmom

fargosmom Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 27, 2008
    Pasadena, CA
    from a somewhat-local feed store. They'll be about a week old when I get them . . . will I be missing anything? If I want to wait for younger ones I have to wait at least a couple of weeks if not longer, and waiting is not something I'm good at. This is my first time with chickens and I'm so excited I don't want to put it off if I don't have to. They'll still be cute, and bond-able, right? I'll be getting two barred rocks, and two EE's.
    can't wait can't wait can't wait . . . [​IMG]

2. CK Chickadilly

CK Chickadilly Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 11, 2008
    West Michigan
    That will seem like a long wait.... [​IMG] You'll do fine with them. Keep us posted & post some pics when you get them. Are you all set up & ready for them? Congrats! [​IMG]

3. tim_TX

tim_TX Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 4, 2008
    By getting week old chicks instead of day old chicks you'll most likely have fewer problems related to casualties, as the loss rate goes down dramatically [ basically zero ] after 1 week provided they are disease free.

4. jossanne

jossanne Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 11, 2008
    Gila, New Mexico
    When I decided to get chickens again, my first five girls were 6 weeks old. They tamed down with plenty of attention and treats, and most of them walk up to me and let me pick them up. Your girls will be perfectly friendly with lots of love and attention from you.

5. fargosmom

fargosmom Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 27, 2008
    Pasadena, CA