1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Got a question about deep litter method

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by DawnB, Sep 27, 2012.

1. DawnB

DawnB Chillin' With My Peeps

Hi all...I'm very new to this chicken thing. Our flock is mixed with a couple ducks and a goose along with 15 chickens. They are actually in a temp shelter/run while we finish building our coop.

I live in Northern MI and it can get EXTREMELY cold. I don't plan on having a heated coop, but am considering a deep litter method. Can you tell me, even with good ventilation, how's the smell? If it's stinky, I'll go light on the litter and just button up the drafts well. Also, I don't know if it's a good method when waterfowl are in the mix.

Advice?

Thanks!!

Dawn

2. NYREDS

NYREDS Overrun With Chickens

Jan 14, 2008
    Probably not a good idea withwaterfowl in the mix. They will splash a lot of water around & wet, deep litter smells bad & isn't a healthy environment for the birds or for you for that matter. I don't recommend keeping chickens & waterfowl together for that reason.
    Waterfowl need to be able to dip their heads in waterto keep themselves clean & to keep their nares clean. In this process they splash a lot of water around.
    Deep litter works very well with chickens. I wouldn't keep them any other way. Consider penning your waterfowl seperately.

3. maidenwolfx80

maidenwolfx80 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 26, 2012
    missouri
    x2

4. donrae

donrae Hopelessly Addicted Premium Member

Jun 18, 2010
    Southern Oregon