1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Greetings from a budding egg farm in Pullman, Chicago

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by twork, Oct 28, 2014.

1. twork

twork Out Of The Brooder

Oct 28, 2014
    Hi all. My name's Michael, and I've been keeping chickens in my back yard in Chicago since 2010.

Until this year I've had four Easter Egger hens, which I love. This spring I added eight Australorps and my goodness, what they said about egg production was all true. The eggs are smaller than the ones from my older birds (so far?), but they're piling up in my kitchen at the rate of six a day.

I'd like to start selling eggs to friends and neighbors, and I'd love to hear any tips for handling that. I've only just discovered this site, so I expect I've got plenty of reading to do even without any replies to this post.

2. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    I'm sure either the mayor or governor will have restrictions and permits and grease the palms to be allowed to sell eggs to the public. I lived in Chicago the first 22 years of my life, and from reading the papers on line, it hasn't changed any. Maybe you could inquire anonymously re: what has to be done to sell eggs to stores or public? I'm sure the Dept.of Health has hoops to jump through as well.

Could you tell me where you found Australorps? A friend(really) wants to get birds in spring - he couldn't find any Black Australorps so wants to wait till the usual miserable winter is over. He tried the Lemont area and around there no luck.

Thank you, and Welcome to Backyard Chickens. Sorry to sound so negative but, moved out of Chicago 45 years ago, and never looked back.

3. Michael OShay

Michael OShay Chicken Obsessed