Greetings from a new member :-)

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by LynnsFlock, Sep 25, 2016.

1. LynnsFlock

LynnsFlock Out Of The Brooder

Sep 25, 2016
    Hello all! I have been reading many articles on this forum for months (great advice, thank you everyone!) and finally created an account today :) I am new to chicken raising (5 months), and have looked through this forum for advice on building a larger coop, secure fencing for their run, the best feed and treats, even advice when we lost one to a raccoon (figured that one out too from the help here) :(
    We still have 5 Lavender Ameraucauna Hens (not laying yet), one lavy roo (they are about 3 months old), and an older Easter Egger Roo, that came from our first set of chicks (5 months).
    We recently finished our 12x8 coop (old pallets and scrap wood) and everyone has moved in happily. Since moving day, I have noticed they rarely go out into the run, at first I thought they just loved all our hard work so much ;-), but came on here today to see why they really aren't coming out. Seems like with the change they feel safer in there, and after the raccoon (was about 4 weeks ago now), I don't blame them for taking their time. So I won't worry yet, lol.
    Well just wanted to say hello, and again, a major thank you to everyone's great posts on here on how to properly raise, house, and protect the chickens. I have grown very attached to them and don't want to see another pile of feathers ever again, although I know I must keep my guard up. I look forward to now being able to talk and ask chicken questions, rather then sitting on the side lines searching my odd questions ;-)

Last edited: Sep 25, 2016
  2. QueenMisha

QueenMisha Queen of the Coop

Welcome to BYC! It's great to have you.

1 person likes this.
  3. redsoxs

redsoxs Chicken Obsessed

Jul 17, 2011
    North Central Kansas