Greetings from Indiana!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by pipdzipdnreadytogo, Jun 9, 2011.

1. pipdzipdnreadytogo

pipdzipdnreadytogo Dorking Queen Premium Member

Jun 9, 2011
    Indiana
    My Coop
    Hi, my name is Kristin and I am a teenage hobby farmer and I live in northeast Indiana. I've been referencing the BYC forum for almost a year now and I decided it was about time I joined the fun for real!

I'm a college student right now, majoring in animal sciences but considering minoring in agriculture. My biggest interest is birds, so I guess that's why I'm so taken by my chickens. Other than caring for my birds, I play the harp and, well, that's about it. [​IMG] We've had chickens since I was 12, but I didn't really take over their care until the past couple years. Now they truly are my girls and EVERYONE knows it. [​IMG]

Our flock is pretty good sized; 20 girls in our coop, plus three newcomers on quarantine, a girl recovering (not sure what from, she may have been egg-bound), and a hen who's just naughty and had to be removed from the flock for now. Plus this year's 13 chicks who are staying in their brooder in my bedroom until the weather's nice enough for them to go out.
    We have 3 Easter-eggers, 4 Rhode Island Reds, 7 Red Sexlinks, 3 Golden laced Wyandottes, 3 Golden Sebrights, 3 Silver Sebrights, 1 mystery hen (who is all white with faint patches of cream and rust; she's a sweetie, too), and 1 who is a mix between our Delaware/x roo and, well, one of the above listed hens (probably RIR). We got 6 Barred Rock chicks and 7 Easter-Egger chicks this year (unfortunately, 2 of the EEs look like roosters [​IMG] ). Everyone except the chicks are named (and they'll be named, too) and we even have some 7-year-olds in the crowd. Basically, any hen that falls into our care is darned lucky. [​IMG] (We have two other roosters, a RIR and a mix, but we've actually found someone to take them!)