Greetings from PeckingPrepper!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by PeckingPrepper, Sep 25, 2016.

1. PeckingPrepper

PeckingPrepper New Egg

Sep 25, 2016
    Culleoka, Tn
    I'm new to the chicken world. Built a 4 x 14 coop with a 10 x 10 run attached to it, have 15 hens and 2 Roos. My girls are as follows: 3 black sexlinks, 2 red sexlinks, 4 americaunas, 1 new hampshire, 1 speckled sussex, 1 delaware, 1 golden comet, 1 barred rock, and 1 cookoo maran.
    My roos are an easter egger and a buff orpington.

My buff orpington in probably 2.5 to 3 yrs old and was bought about a month ago (with 4 others) at a local auction. He was with 14 buff orpington hens and they all looking heathy. I bought him because he was so studly and striking in appearance. All went well until about 4 days ago when he started getting lethargic and acting like he had lost all energy. He either lays around a on the ground sleeping, or sleeps on the roost bars in the coop and doesn't seemed to be eating much. No nasal discharge, but was sneezing for about 3 days before the sleeping set in.
    I had purchased 4 other hens at the same auction and one of them got sick and died, but she had nasal discharge and congestion and had lost an eye from being pecked by the other chickens. ...Everyone else is healthy.

Any thoughts?

2. redsoxs

redsoxs Chicken Obsessed

Jul 17, 2011
    North Central Kansas
    Greetings from Kansas, PeckingPrepper, and :welcome. Pleased you joined us but sorry it's under these circumstances. Sounds like you have a dilemma. There is always a risk of purchasing birds at auction. Are they healthy? Will they cause my birds to become sick? Obviously a little late for this link but it's still worth a read https://www.backyardchickens.com/a/...often-underestimated-part-of-raising-chickens
    Here's is the place to post about the additional health concerns you may have https://www.backyardchickens.com/f/10/emergencies-diseases-injuries-and-cures